Clay Target Shooting to get new Grand Prix

Photo: International Paralympic Committee

A new discipline will be included in shooting for 2017 as World Shooting Para Sport announced that clay target shooting would be added to their schedule in 2017. This will come in the form of the sport’s own World Cup, beginning in 2017.

The investigation in to adding clay target shooting to the list of shooting para sport events has taken several years of research to get to this point. Moving to this World Cup is part of an attempt to get the sport fully recognized and become a Paralympic sport.

What the World Cup is doing is beginning a two year testing period for the sport, to test the rules and identify possible classification. The initial work was led by the Italian Shooting Federation (FITAV) with a new Para Clay Target Development Group in World Shooting Para Sport.

The move comes after an agreement at the 2014 World Championships when the National Paralympic Committees and National Federations agreed to concede to the second phase. That happened under the guidance of FITAV who staged research and testing to create classification and rules and regulations.

Following that event representatives from World Shooting Para Sport attend a Para Clay Target Grand Prix event in Italy. That allowed FITAV to update the world body on classification research and observe competition which continued through two more Grand Prix events in Italy.

All that research has led to a formal classification in the sport, which is currently provisional and could well see things change in the coming years. The 2017 season will allow for further testing of the rules, regulation and classification with hopes of creating a final classification system in the future.

There will be three classes in the classification system, Class 1 will be the most impaired athletes, and will include those with poor balance and/or trunk stability who compete from a wheelchair in a standard seating position, and includes athletes with impairment in their lower limbs but now functional limitation in their upper limbs. Class 2 will include athletes with good balance and trunk function competing from a standing position, athletes have an impairment in their lower limbs but no functional limitation in their upper limbs. Class 3 will have athletes with good balance and trunk function competing from a standing position and have an upper limb (non-shooting arm) impairment.

The full rules for the sport and dates and locations will be released in the new year but it is an exciting opportunity to grow a sport and potentially see a new event in Tokyo.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s